1. Money

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://credit.about.com/u/r/od/prepaidcardreviews/fr/Green-Dot-Prepaid-Card-Review.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

User Reviews

Green Dot Prepaid Card Review

User Rating 1 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay away!!April 05, 2013 By pepper.roney
I have had nothing but problems with this company. and the fine print... If your transaction is cancelled...by the place your purchasing then Green Dot will hold your money for 30 days. All purchases from Amazon are help for 30 days. Not to mention all the fees!! Why am I charge a fee to load and then a monthly fee? so, a little over $10 a month minimum fee to you...now is that really convenient? Your best bet is to go with American Express or the other banks...if you use Green Dot you will be sorry..and I'll say I told you so!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Walmart Green Dot Prepaid Visa CardsMarch 20, 2013 By TammySpringsteen
I had a pre paid visa green dot card for 2 1/2 years. At first, I was very pleased with the card and services. Then, on March 1, 2013, all of my money was stolen. My direct deposit had just hit the day before. In 3 transactions, my money was taken and left my account 0 balance. This is where the horror began. Of course I called right away to find out how my money was stolen, as I still had the only and original card that was issued to me. The customer service agents, supervisor's and the dispute agents were awful. They insinuated that I had made the purchases, which were made in Miami Florida and I live in Arizona. Each and ever employee I spoke with lied to me from telling me I wouldn't get my money back to 10 days I may receive my money back if the retail store that my money was spent at would sign a form and credit money back to my account. My request to speak with their legal department (12 days in to waiting) was denied. Claiming that someone would return my call in 24 to 48 hours 9 (never happened). It was a nightmare. Finally, I spoke with an attorney and was given sound advise on how to approach the customer service or supervisor agents. Only then, did I actual receive a call on day 18 that my money would be credit back to my account in 24 to 48 hours. A Miami Detective informed me that I was the 2nd person out of 19 to report the theft of their money from a green dot card and that all of the victims were from Arizona. Obviously, our information was being sold and counterfeit cards were being made with our stolen info to obtain our money. In my case, it was my entire paycheck plus other money I had on my card. Please read the ""Agreement"" very closely. It defiantly tells a story of how green dot never really intends on giving any money back to victims of theft. I believe I only received my money back because I hired an attorney.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE!February 26, 2013 By NikM755
Dont know your grandmothers month of birth? AVOID!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst card everFebruary 11, 2013 By hiawathas
ok so i got this card thinking that i could get a quick thing online and be done with it......WRONG i had to enter in my social security number. why? why would you need that for a prepaid card NEVER GET THIS get a gift card instead.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Green Dot Limit with your moneyFebruary 06, 2013 By kandi0214
Green Dot advertise to put your check or taxes on their card however, they don't tell you that you only have a $2500/day spending limit. If I am trying to pay a bill of with more than that I have to get $2500 one day and the rest another day. Also, they charge you to take the money off the card. This is my money why should I have to wait. They claim they can't override the limit. Never again will I use them
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
NOT ACTUALLY BADJanuary 24, 2013 By amberlou143
it's not actually that bad..it's just sometimes our misconception..=3 why? no credit checks.. waiver is actually cool..especially the 30 purchases.. free card purchase online.. for others who complains giving out personal information for a GIFT CARD (which is actually a debit card): didn't you realize that it's not their rep's fault that the one who gave you a GIFT bought the wrong card? (which is actually a DEBIT CARD) In my own perspective, it's the fault of the one who bought the card. XD peace
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
As a college student....not so great.December 05, 2012 By stagerose
First of all, let me say this. I am NOT a disgruntled customer. I have been using Green Dot for almost a year now, but at this point, forget it. Their cards that you buy in stores such as Walgreens....while they say they are reloadable--they are NOT. As a college student in the middle of finals week--I lost my (VIP) card amongst all my papers. I went to Walgreens and bought a reloadable card and my parents bought a Moneypak card for me to load money onto it with. I called Customer Support, and had a very hard time understanding the woman's accent. I couldn't get anything out of her, because she does nothing but read her script. (I have called at least 10 times for customer support for Green Dot....every time I've called--no matter the time of day--it's always this woman who answers. I honestly think they only have one CS employee. Which I'm pretty sure is not legal but hey.) She informed me I could reload money onto my card through PayPal onto the Green Dot card, so I tried it. You can't. I will never use this company again because of their inconvenience. I will not recommend it to anyone, and if I am ever in a bind like I am now--I won't be turning to them. I will go straight to their competitor---PayPal, because that's a company who actually knows what they're doing. Not impressed.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
green dotNovember 05, 2012 By edwolan
the worst! Even costumer service is the worst! You can't get money back from atm. They charge a monthly fee. Costumer service couldn't spell my name correctly even after repeating it to them. Very, very aggrivating.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Do not, I repeat, do NOT use Green Dot cardsSeptember 29, 2012 By crosnic
They give a balance online that shows there's still money on your card when there isn't. They turn off your card without alerting you, if you call to speak to an agent. This card has been a complete disaster, and the agents give out misinformation on the phone, too. Do not use this card if you need to count on having money. Huge mistake.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
September 17, 2012 By SidneyBerry
Received GreenDot card for my birthday in the amount of $50.00. Purchaser thought it was a gift card. I called to activate card and they wanted lots of personal information because they were sending me a temporary credit card. I'm thinking why would they need my social security number, birth date and physical address just to activate a gift card. I don't want a credit card. I waited about 25 minutes till I finally got a person. A woman came on the phone... knew it was outsourced because her English was awful. She kept insisting that I needed to give my personal information. I told her I wasn't comfortable enough giving her this information and that I don't want a credit card, I am activating a gift card, but she wasn't listening. She put me on hold about four times, finally coming back and said she would give me a refund for the card. They would send me a check between seven and ten business days. The call ended. In about a week I received the check. It wasn't for $50.00 the amount of the card it was for $33.00. When I called GreenDot I was informed that they held back $17.00 for a processing fee.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
stay away from green dot prepaid money pak card!!!August 01, 2012 By melisssakr
got it for paypal instant cash. entered all info and was stuck on validating address. did again and retyped all info again and again, same results. called green dot waited :26 the 1st time...emailed them, was told it would be 2 days. called them back and now been waiting :42 and still no answer. cannot contact them through any measure. called paypal seeing they recommend this service. was told there is no way possible for them to get a hold of green dot to fix this simple validating problem. they tell you to use the service but yet they have no means to contact? I asked if they could call or email and they said there is no way to talk with them. Now why would should a reputable paypal company advise/offer such a service that they cannot talk to at all..they said they have no such numbers....please all beware plus look up greeen dot reviews and you will find bad results for them EVERYWHERE!!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Run, Hide, and avoid this at ALL COSTSJuly 11, 2012 By Kingofjuice
I had recently gotten a Moneypak prepaid card from Green Dot. I figure it'd be easy enough to understand and put into my Paypal account for online purchases. I was wrong. Horribly Wrong. The new verification system sucks, in fact the process sucked. I used both my Paypal accounts and I was locked out both times for incorrect information I was positive was correct (It seems Green Dot doesn't even trust me to know my address let alone MY own name). I called Green Dot customer service FIRST. Then they told me to call Paypal, but they said they'd be happy to help me out. I did call Paypal then I called back and Customer service kept repeating the same information to me over and over again. They didn't even help me from their end very much. It was a frustrating experience. My word of advice? Buy a MasterCard Prepaid Card, American Express Prepaid Card, or a Visa Prepaid Card. If you want to do online purchases its way easier and way safer to add those under the name of ""Debit Card"" under your Paypal profile. Here is the kicker only problem I ever had was with one certain company and they fixed it so easily and quickly I'll be sure to give them my business again (A genuine thanks to American Express). Its quicker, its easier, and in fact I think its cheaper. Whether they're crooks or thieves is beyond me, but all I know is they have bad business practice and made the whole process a lot more difficult then it had to be with horrible customer support and online verification. Never ever use this abysmal card for any online transactions.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
green dot card customer servise sucksJuly 11, 2012 By tattooz
I recieved my green dot card and didnt use it for about a month and decided it would be a great way to order online for my business to keep it seperate from my business account. After about 3 weeks of using it I went to reload it only to have it go straight to sutomer service where I was told that it has been cancelled due to an accesive use for business related transactions and that is not allowed. Not only were they very robotic in there answers without even just warning they shut it off instantly. I have had better luck with using other prepaid cards elsewhere because who cares what you purchace with your money? This card is such a joke BEWARE!!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Deceit, Liars, Manipulators.June 23, 2012 By danasprngs
I purchased a greendot card that was being advertised as free with a purchase of 20.00 and over. I checked my card and found out I was being charged for the card so I was negative balance. I called Customer Service to find out why I was being charged and the lady I spoke to said it was a promotion for employees. So I asked: well why did'nt it say that on the package. So I called Rite Aid where I purchased the card from. The manager I spoke to said they were lying and that anyone who purchased the card would recieve the promotion. I called customer service back and was told a different story. That it was because I was not a VIP member. Which would leave me back to my same question. Why was this not printed on the packaging. The only reason I purchased the card was because it was ""free"". I am not done I am calling management (green dot). Because I don't like liars.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Deal EverJanuary 04, 2012 By Arlenee
When I purchased this to use for on line transactions I didn't realize that in addition to the fee to purchase the card they take $5.95 out of the card every month. The card sat there on my desk for months and then one day I called to check the balance on it and they informed me that it had a negative -$21.00 balance and they wanted me to pay it! Hey, what about the no long term commitment claim clearly stated on the packaging? After some hassle and speaking to a supervisor etc. they agreed to let the $21 go. How gracious of them. So the $50 + the fee to purchase the card was a total waste. Caveat emptor!
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stole my moneyJanuary 03, 2012 By ccc20102010
Is there a NO STAR rating:) First I have no idea how it works since the card I bought was ""flagged"". I called customer service and they told me I had to fax them the receipt, front back of the card, store # and address. They gave me a file number. ............well 2 faxes, 4 calls and about an hour plus later.....no working card and I am out 4.95 fee, 20.00 I put on the card and about 1.99 fax charge X 2. I called them last night after 2 weeks and they wanted me to fax it AGAIN....yeah I am not that stupid. Threw the card and my receipt out....should have just given my niece a 40 bucks...it would have been the same and less hassle!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Never buy this card,cost too muchJune 02, 2011 By Jena48
I brought this card recently and put money on the orginal card, before I got my card with my name on it. I needed to put more money on it within 5 days. I then had to buy a reload pack card for another $4.95 cents. Then after that when I ask do I have to buy a reload card everytime I had to add money they said yes it only good for one refill. When my card did come within the same month, I still had to pay $4.95 cent to refill and put money on my card. I decided not to do that and went with another company NS. I only had to buy the card and it cost me $2.00 to refill it. It is a lot better than greendot. I also go a reward plan with the other card which greendot don't do. I will never use them again in my life and I will not recommend them to anyone.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
GreenDotApril 09, 2011 By robert1986
They are not worth the trouble. I have had to call them twice because they would not give me my money and had to spend more money to get my money they are not a good company and thier customer service is no good!!! I would avoid using them they have a lot of fraud issues in their system. and when you buy a reload card from a store it does not go to their system so anyone can have access to it that is about word for word on how the superviser explained it to me. STAY AWAY FROM GREENBOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.