1. Money

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://credit.about.com/u/r/od/creditcardreviews/fr/Credit-One-Bank-Visa-Platinum-Card-Review.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

User Reviews

Credit One Bank Visa Platinum Card Review

User Rating 1.5 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Rude, harassing, and not helpful.May 09, 2013 By ktmaxattack
I have had this card for 5 years. Paid for the credit protection all this time as well. Always paid well above the minimum, and on time. In January I got laid off April, I was 2 days late. Got a harassing call, told them I would be a week late. Told me to borrow money from someone, since it was only $40.00. This month I realized I have this protection and called to initiate the assistance. I got another call today, because though my payment isn't due for 3 more days, the annual fee charged put me over lthe limit by $12.00. I mentioned that I signed up for the protection, and my payment isn't due yet. Again, they suggested I borrow money. Today, I cut up this card.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Absurd Demand for Bank InformationApril 19, 2013 By bikeman1176
I accepted a Credit One Bank Visa despite the $75 annual fee & thought it was OK until one day my account was blocked three months after I received my card. I called customer service and was told I had to have my bank send a letter confirming that the checking account I used to pay my bill was actually my account. My bank will not send letters including account numbers for security reasons, which seems reasonable. However, my bank offered to do a 3-way call to clear up the matter. Credit One refused to do that. I had already paid about 10 payments from the same checking account. I closed the Visa account. I had an $80 balance left. How did Credit One accept the final payment? By electronic payment from the checking account I had already been using. Idiots
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
April 15, 2013 By chazz760
You have to be careful about these low budget credit card carriers such as credit one. What some people are not finding out that there is a $75 annual fee and they do not read the back page then later finding out why they are being charge $75.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
COLLECTOR WAS HELPFULMarch 19, 2013 By oceangirl.kelly
i opened this account recently.. i got calls from billing department on missing my payment.. she asked me to pay off the balance.. and since i was on vaccation and it was 8 days late.. she understood the reason of not making the payment on time.. she was professional.. however, she was honest to let me know abt interest charges which hits on my a/c per day and late fees .. and suggested me to pay off the balance.. i decided to pay off the balance if the late fee can be waived.. she waived my late fees and took the payment with $9.95.. as the payment gets updated faster.. and as that collector sd no calls till next due date.. i was happy with service..
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Credit One Bank Credit Card TERRIBLE!!! STAY AWAYMarch 05, 2013 By 2121212
So I applied for this card to help reestablish my credit. I wasn't even planning on using it. Then I get a statement in the mail talking about I owe $75 + $25 late charge. I call them to see if they could waive the late charge and then make a payment. They say the fee to pay over the phone is $9. ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? I HAVEN'T EVEN ACTIVATED THE CARD YET AND I ALREADY NEED TO PAY THEM $109....THAT'S ROBBERY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! $109 buys me groceries for two weeks. Why would I want to give it away to Credit One Bank? STAY AWAY FROM THIS CREDIT CARD. GO TO CAPITAL ONE INSTEAD!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AWFUL company to do business with. AVOID!February 25, 2013 By bizemom2boys
I opened an account with this bank in April 2012 and closed in disgust in ecember 2012. From the beginning I got harrassing calls from the billing department (always from a call center in India) BEFORE I was late with a payment saying my payment was due. I had numerous conversations with representatives about my billing cycle and bill date so I could be clear and not be ""late."" Finally, after being charged late fees that I disputed (except for the one month when my son had been sick and was hospitalized and I WAS late, which I owned) I told them to pay off my balance and close the account. I was told the ""express payment fee"" of $9.95 to close the account that day (12/18/2012) would be included in my final payment and that the late fee would be waived. The supervisor transferred me to someone and I was given a conf. # for the payment and another ref. # for the account closing. Two months later, before 9:00 a.m. on a Sunday morning I got a phone call saying I had an account balance and was late with payment. I was so angry at being woken up I told them don't cal again. I got a call again 2/25/13 and spoke to two people, including a supervisor who said I had an express payment fee and late fee, plus interest charges, all totaling $50.46 and that I had to pay today. I stayed calm but firm, told him I had closed the account and he said he'd close it as of today. I told him I HAD ALREADY closed it and he said, ""well, what I meant is I'll close out these charges"" I requested a written letter from them stating that I am not late or at fault and got a run around that I need to speak to customer service in Las Vegas (of course, they're not open, yet they're on Pacific time). I am disgusted that I was an honest person trying to rebuild my credit and this HAS impacted my credit report negatively. Very poor and sneaky company. DON'T get a credit card with them!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Had no issues yetJanuary 06, 2013 By shinexnxstar
After having this credit card for about 2 years and I've been trying to rebuild my credit now for some time after your typical 20's ""omg! I have a credit card I must buy every thing but can't afford it"" mistake I haven't had any issues. When I first got the card I tried to use it for the bare minimum like gas and things of that sort that cost under $50, and that worked out perfectly fine. I pay my bill bi-weekly and I'm always ahead of the due date so I'm never hit with the ridiculous fees that you all speak of...I've called customer service 2x's since I've had the card and never had an issue. Yes the fees are pricey and yes they do charge you a fee if you want to increase your credit limit which is charged to the card, but other than then that if you keep your balance low and your payments ahead of the due date then I don't see why not!
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
This bank is a fraud.December 16, 2012 By georg15232
This bank is a complete fraud. Their customer service represntatives barely speak english, they offer no credit counseling services (although they claim that they do), they cooperate with no credit counseling services, they are not interested in working with their clients to resolve any issues pertaining to their credit cards, they are rude and dispresectful on the phone, their interest rate is %20. They are the worst predatory lending agency that I have ever seen. They need to be shut down, I have a complaint with BBB pending. If you are a customer and want to join me in filing a class action lawsuit against them please contact me.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
credit one bank visa platinum card reviewNovember 30, 2012 By jessicasegobia
they stopped taking my payments and send my bill to a collection agency nd then that agency stoped sending my bill. i owe 400+ but have good credit. i just want to get rid of this stupid bill because i cant buy a car or get a bank account without them wanting alot of money..i cant even get at&t home services. please i need someone that can help. CREDIT ONE BANK STOPS YOUR ACCOUNT AND THROWS OUT YOUR BILL. HELP :(
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bad, Bad, Bad, and Worse !!!!October 19, 2012 By audrasmom
You will never ever get to talk to an American !!! You will never get an answer!!! All you will get is lies and lies and more lies !!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM !!!! THEY DO NOT HELP YOUR CREDIT THEY RUIN IT !!!! THEY DESERVE A ZERO SCORE !!!
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
credit one is a jokeOctober 08, 2012 By truthisthis
DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!! THEY DO NOT HELP BUILD YOUR CREDIT!!!! I PAID ON TIME FOR A WHOLE YEAR. ASKED THEM TO WAIVE THE FEE AND THEY SAID NO. THEY TOLD ME THE FEE WOULD HAVE TO STAY. TOLD THEM TO CANCEL CARD AND THEY TOLD ME THE FEE WOULD STILL BE CHARGED UNTIL THE BALANCE WAS PAID OFF. HAD I KNOWN I WOULD HAVE PAID OFF THE CARD BEFORE THE ANNUAL FEE WAS DUE AND NOT HAD USED THEM EVER AGAIN. ALL MY OTHER CARDS INCLUDING AMERICAN EXPRESS WAIVED THEIR FEE. THIS COMPANY IS A JOKE!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Run far and run fast.October 02, 2012 By blackbeasst
DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT get this card. Rebuilding your credit is not worth the headache. On top of the outrageous fees they charge interest DAILY and add it based on the days it sits there. Example: If you make a purchase for $100 and wait till the due date to make a payment you will accrue 30/31 days interest that WILL be added to the account. They are not like other cards where the interest only kicks in if the balance isn't paid off. YOU WILL GET INTEREST ADDED REGARDLESS. If you are in that bad of shape to get your credit back up to par then best of luck.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
credit one bankSeptember 21, 2012 By tmorello
by far the worst credit card company I have ever dealt with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
September 04, 2012 By jossyadhi
0 star worst credit card don't waste your $$$$$, hidden FEES, don't apply for it
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DO NOT APPLY or ACCEPT THIS SORRY CARDAugust 10, 2012 By tabreader
My due date was 08-01-12; my balance was $400.00; I received a call from a rep on 08-07-2012 that my payment was past due and my payment was now $75.00! My actual payment was $25.00. Build your credit without this pis poor card
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
So far, so good.August 07, 2012 By TheTaoOfNoe
I didn't see dates on other reviews (Today in August 7, 2012). I received a pre-approval by mail from this company. I have average credit, loads of student loans, typical 30 something credit mistakes and boo boos. I am attempting to rebuild my credit. I accepted this offer on a Monday and had the card shipped the next day. If you have exemplary credit you shouldn't be applying for new credit cards, so skip ""new revolving credit lines"" or you're setting yourself up to fail. This card is superior to Orchard Bank because it's credit. It's not secured dollars (of your own money) being doled to you with added fees. This credit card is perfect for a rebuild. It has high fees so don't be stupid. Keep balances below 30%. If you are terrible at math, please consult Google. If your limit is 400 dollars, and you have more than 120 dollars on your card, you're not in the 30% range. If you're unsure or uneasy about the math you may ask Google to do it for you. You simply need to type ""what is 30% of $400?"" We live in smart times. Be smart. If you're going to be stupid, you have to be tough.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bad credit is better than getting this cardAugust 01, 2012 By jonboi205
You make a payment and it takes over a week to show on your available credit. the payment posts but no addtl credit is avaialble. I lost my card and it costs $25.00 for a new one. they waived the charge for me but appearred on my next bill, saying they never offered to waive the charge. They are liars. Oh, and they will increase your credit balance, but it cost $25.00....so you actually get $75. increase and they make more money off of you. DONT APPLY FOR CREDIT ONE
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
CreditOne Bank Platinum CardJuly 25, 2012 By carolcampbell
I received my Credit One Bank Platinum Card in the mail the day before yesterday,with the the due date for payment of annual membership due in 18 days. I checked my credit score,which had decreased 53 points for non-payment for this credit card's annual payment! I called to cancel this card,and suggested strongly,that when reviewing my credit score in the next few days,that the amount of the membership be taken off and my credit score be re-evaluated. The man on the phone was very nice,but I cannot understand why,when trying to help people improve their credit,they wouldn't even wait until the payment was past due before referring to any amount due,as non-payment.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
You get exactly what is statedJune 16, 2012 By sunnie77
My credit has been affected because of poor decisions I made the past. I was unable to get a major credit card except those with high fees. I don't understand what all the bad reviews are for because the cards fees are right align with those of Orchard Bank, now Capital One, and other banks. I received a Capital One credit card with an initial limit of $300 and the interest rate was 18%. The annual fee is $49. It has been over two years since I got the card and my card limit is now $500. My Orchard Bank card, which was formerly from HSBC, had an initial limited of $300 with a 21% interest rate and an annual fee of$59. I think that these cards are worse because the credit limits are so low. As for the Credit One Bank Visa, the fees are high but my credit limit is $1500. I paid the $75 annual fee in one payment and only make purchases that I know I can pay off in one month so the interest rate of 23% is not important because I don't pay any. Also, I never had a problem paying my bill on time or early for that matter with their online banking service . And for you people that claim you were scammed, try reading the credit card terms before accepting anything because I did and I knew about all fees and rates upfront before I applied. Therefore, I was able to make the best decision for myself and I had no surprises. So, if you need to repair your credit I say this is the card for you.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Def Wish I had found this review prior to applyingMay 12, 2012 By LostInGrapevine
I so agree with ya'll ... the customer service is cr*!, cr*!, cr*! ... the website blows, there is NO way to pre-schedule a payment ??? & the site no longer works with Firefox on my Mac ... this organization is so out of touch with everything & then again ... their making money hand over fist ... so ... sigh ... they'll be like the EverReady Bunny Unfortunately ...
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
BewareApril 16, 2012 By spooky2012
Stay away from this card if you can. This card is only good for people with poor/bad credit. If you are trying to rebuild your credit, I would suggest you get it, but use it wisely. The fees are astronomical!!!! I had this card for about 5 years. I got it because my credit was poor due to some very POOR choices in the past (credit score around 560). Initially I was given $300. Annual fee of $9 per month and APR 23.99. The next year my credit limit was increased $50. I also received another increase of $75. I never missed a payment and was never late. I decided to stop using this card for all of my purchases. I only made a few transactions then finally decided to stop using this card. At this point I applied and recevied a credit card from Discover. I still kept the Credit One card and paid the montly of $9.00 per month. In year 4, I was offered an increase of $100. The catch was that I would have to pay $14.95. Here's the thing, my credit score was around 700. I finally decided to cancel the card, which was a hassle. You should get this card if you are trying to rebuild your credit. Otherwise, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
credit one bankApril 09, 2012 By dismick1
I sincerely wish I'd found this website before applying (online) for a Credit One Bank Visa Platinum!! I was misled when I read that there were no application fees .... after getting approved I received a billing statement in the mail for $75.00 ANNUAL fee .... what a shoddy way to do business!!!!! I will make it my goal to see that the 600 plus people in my national address book receive a copy of this review .... the entire United States should beware of this organization and their truly incredibly shoddy business practices. Now that I know that they're geared toward folk with poor credit I will also make certain to target that group with my review. I did cancel the card as soon as I received the paper statement but they are still charging me an ANNUAL FEE!!!! What a load of manure!!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Really bad customer service rep on the phoneMarch 09, 2012 By mastermind14
I was appalled how the customer service representative would just CUT IN and start talking. Believe me when I say I'm not a rude person on the phone. But when I tried to explain what's going on with my account, she would just cut in and start talking. I actually had to ask her to hold on for a minute and finish listening to what I'm saying. I understand many companies choose to outsource these customer service phonelines to places like India, but I really hope they dedicate time to train these people. Customer service at its worst.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worse than HORRIBLEFebruary 16, 2012 By charlette.p
This is an absolute scam. They charge a Daily finance so even though I paid my balance in full I was still charged interest. You can not use this card without being charged a fee, a ridiculous fee, not to mention the enrollment fee. What a joke, NO ONE needs credit like this!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Recommended for those rebuilding their Credit.February 14, 2012 By ak421
If you have good credit, this card is a terrible 1 star. This card has high annual fees, they will nickel and dime you, the interest is high, they don't credit your account immediately upon payment, etc. If you're rebuilding your credit after a personal financial disaster or bankrutcy, this card is 4 stars as a a temporary stepping stone to a good card and a road to good credit. People recommend secure cards, but honestly, That's putting down your own cash(that you may not have) to have the right to pay an annual fee and pay interest on your own money? This is a better option, they report to all credit bureaus and give you free monthy tracking on your credit score. Keep this card for a year, keep it paid down to below 30% of the available credit, and after one year from a bankruptcy or other disaster, your score will be around 650 and be able to qualify for a good card with lower fees and interest, then you close this account. It's a stepping stone to a better card. This card is better than First Premier which you should avoid, but inferior to Orchard Bank(which offered me a 14.9% card with $750 limit and $29 annual fee with decent customer service just 2 months after filing for bankruptcy. Keep in mind that rebuilding credit has a lot to do with paying on time, and also a low percentage of available credit. If your score is below 600, opening a new account may increase your score by lowering your debt ratio on unsecured cards. The trick is not to carry more than 30% balance on any card, and if you do carry a balance, keep the overall debt ratio below 30%...and for gods sake, don't charge what you can't afford to pay! The free credit tracking service at Credit One doesn't report the details but will tell you what you owe and how much unsecured credit and the ratio you have as well as good tips on improving your score.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not the best optionFebruary 13, 2012 By HolyCow3815
This card is not the best option. It's for people trying to rebuild their credit who have the ability to pay the cards high fees. (That last part is important to note.) I use this card minimally. As noted, the card is loaded with fees. There's even a fee for not using the card ($1) which is called a ""minimum interest fee."" I recently lost my card and was charged a $25 replacement fee. I also pay $8.25 per month for the card which is a steep annual fee even for these types of cards. I've used this card to rebuild my credit and although expensively, it has served its purpose which is the only reason I gave it two stars. And it does give you monthly updates on your credit score. I can also speak from personal experience and say that the customer service is not the best but that has been my experience with all of these types of cards--Orchard Bank included. There are better options available now so do some research. As soon as I have enough credit history on my far superior but far from perfect Capitol One card, I plan to drop this card. It appears, in keeping with the card's history, I should be ready to pay some fees for doing so.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Customer Service Agents = negligenceFebruary 06, 2012 By Dakatmiami
This bank is a rip off. The high interest rates, high anual fees and a POOR customer service pool of representatives makes this bank the least desirable option for people with bad credit. They should have representatives who understand english or spanish. There is a lack of elocuent agents making it EXTREMELY HARD to understand what they are saying/or reading from a script. They are negligent, they never have solutions and their famous customer service phrase is ""Mr. ****, we apologize for the inconvenience, BUT we cannot help you!!. Be carefull with this bank. Not a good choice!!!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Card EverFebruary 02, 2012 By legallybarb
I hate that I even have to give it one star. Because it deserves none. I would NEVER recommend this card for anyone. They charged me an annual fee AFTER I closed my account and refused to waive it. They sent me my statement, I paid it off two days later, and STILL changed me interest on the account for those two days. No other card I have had has done that. If you pay off the card within the statement period, you're clear and done. This card is a giant scam. I would never recommend anyone use it. Ever. Build your credit another way.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lot of hidden chargesJanuary 14, 2012 By Melleynemo
I would give Credit one '0' star if there was one. Please do not sign up. I signed up by mistake and I can not wait to cancel it. I love Capital One and I will stay with them. They will charge you for a late fee before your due date. It's frustrating!!!! It's a scam. Don't do it!!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't get this card. Customer BewareDecember 26, 2011 By MoniqueKaymore
This card is full of hidden fees. They charge you daily even if you pay the balance off before the due date. Even if you pay the balance off on the same day you made the charge, they will charge you finance charges. They will not reason with you they just want your money. Please don't apply for this card. Capital One is better and the annual fee is almost half of what they charge. God bless and beware.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
December 08, 2011 By Wilfredo1
My niece has this card for 5 months already and has no problem in less then 4 months they raised her amount too $1,000 she pays her bill online and it is free all credit cards have fees and intrest what you want everything for free it does not work like that... By the way she tecomended the card to me and im waiting for it i have 2 master cards already and cant wait foor my Visa to come....If you don't like what it has to offer don't apply for it.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
This card sucksSeptember 08, 2011 By gemini1965
The online site is difficult to navigate. Do not be even one day late on payment or the calls will begin. I received a call at 8:00 on a Sunday morning....the customer service rep was very rude.
23 of 25 people found this review helpful.
4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Love this credit cardAugust 04, 2011 By arealtore
Might be more expensive than some other cards, but it's perfect to rebuild your credit. Love the free monthly credit score update they offer. Very easy approval. The gave me a $300 limit to start. By the next statement they increased it to $400 and after one year I am now at $550.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
April 29, 2011 By debbie470
Credit one sent me a pre approved notice. I went to the web site to accept but I ended up needing to call instead. They said it would take 3 weeks to process my ""application"". I didn't apply they offered. I received a letter from the Credit one processing center requesting a copy of my W2's and D.L.?? There is absolutely no reason they need either one of these documents in my opinion. Especially when everything was supposed to be ""Pre Approved"" What a crock!
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
This card is horribleMarch 06, 2011 By shuggavery
The charge an annual fee monthly. The charge an interest on the card even if you do not use it. If your monthly payment in 30 dollars they charge you 20 dollars a month. DO NOT GET THIS CARD, it robs you, save your money, try capital one.
19 of 23 people found this review helpful.